Mark Hall (Penn State) wins 2020 Abacus Award!

Mark Hall of the Penn State Nittany Lions has been named the winner of the 2020 Abacus Award, as announced by WrestlingByPirate, the sponsor of the award. Hall, a senior and Telecommunications major, had a 23-1 record over the course of the 2019-20 season, with 10 wins, 3 technical falls, and 17 bonus-point victories, as well as a 13-1 record in duals.

The Abacus Award is given to the wrestler with the highest Dual Impact Index rating over the course of the previous season. This marks the second consecutive year that the Abacus Award has been won by a Penn State wrestler, as well as the fourth of the last five years, and sixth of the last nine. Additionally, this marks the ninth consecutive year that the Abacus Award has been won by a Big Ten wrestler.

Abacus Award top 5:

1. Mark Hall, Penn State
2. Vincenzo Joseph, Penn State
3. Spencer Lee, Iowa
4. Michael Kemerer, Iowa
5. Ryan Deakin, Northwestern

Abacus Award History:

2020: Mark Hall, Penn State
2019: Jason Nolf, Penn State
2018: Spencer Lee, Iowa
2017: Zain Retherford, Penn State
2016: Zain Retherford, Penn State
2015: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
2014: David Taylor, Penn State
2013: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
2012: Ed Ruth, Penn State
2011: Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State
2010: Jake Varner, Iowa State
2009: Jake Herbert, Northwestern


Who earned automatic bids for their conference, but needs an at-large?

Note that the “replacement” qualifier will be in parenthesis next to the wrestler who initially earned the bid.

125: Fabian Gutierrez, Chattanooga (Korbin Meink, Campbell); Justin Cardani, Illinois (Malik Heinselman, Ohio State); Patrick McKee, Minnesota (Logan Griffin, Michigan State); Logan Treaster, Navy (Dominic LaJoie, Cornell); Brandon Kaylor, Oregon State (Jackson DiSario, Stanford); Michael Colaiocco, Penn (Antonio Mininno, Drexel); Nic Aguilar, Rutgers (Liam Cronin, Indiana); Daniel Vega, South Dakota State (Christian Moody, Oklahoma); Eric Barnett, Wisconsin (Alex Thomsen, Nebraska)

133: Zach Trampe, Binghamton (Nick Farro, Lehigh); Todd Small, Iowa State (Lawrence Saenz, Fresno State); Richie Koehler, Rider (Andrew Marten, Central Michigan)

141: Sal Profaci, American (Noah Baughman, Cornell); Wil Gil, Franklin & Marshall (Ryan Pomrinca, Lehigh); DJ Lloren, Fresno State (Dylan Droegemueller, North Dakota State); Shakur Laney, Ohio (Sa’Derian Perry, Old Dominion); Mitch Moore, Virginia Tech (Cole Matthews, Pittsburgh)

149: Tanner Smith, Chattanooga (Selwyn Porter, The Citadel); Jimmy Hoffman, Lehigh (Jared Prince, Navy); Max Thomsen, Northern Iowa (Greg Gaxiola, Fresno State); Yahya Thomas, Northwestern (Alex Hrisopoulos, Michigan State)

157: Kaleb Young, Iowa (Eric Barone, Illinois); Zac Carson, Ohio (Alex Carida, Bloomsburg)

165: Randy Meneweather, Air Force (Chase Straw, Iowa State); Ebed Jarrell, Drexel (Ricky Stamm, Hofstra); Bailee O’Reilly, Minnesota (Drew Hughes, Michigan State); Peyton Mocco, Missouri (Izzak Olejnik, Northern Illinois); Kennedy Monday, North Carolina (Cam Coy, Virginia); Evan Wick, Wisconsin (Tyler Meisinger, Michigan)

174: Brandon Womack, Cornell (Michael O’Malley, Drexel); Mason Eaglin, Duke (Cody Hughes, Virginia Tech); Jacob Oliver, Edinboro (Jared Siegrist, Lock Haven); Hayden Hastings, Wyoming (Joseph Smith, Oklahoma State)

184: Trevor Allard, Bloomsburg (Antonio Agee, Old Dominion); Owen Webster, Minnesota (Max Lyon, Purdue); Colt Doyle, Oregon State (Josh Loomer, CSU Bakersfield)

197: Wyatt Koelling, Missouri (Landon Pelham, Central Michigan); Jacob Koser, Navy (Bryan McLaughlin, Drexel); Jordan Pagano, Rutgers (Shakur Rasheed, Penn State); Stephen Buchanan, Wyoming (Cordell Eaton, North Dakota State)

285: Ben Sullivan, Army West Point (Brendan Furman, Cornell); Tyler Bagoly, Clarion (Jordan Earnest, Ohio); Seth Nevills, Penn State (David Jensen, Nebraska); Colton McKiernan, Southern Illinois Edwardsville (Ryan Cloud, Rider)

Correct official bracket links for conference championships:

ACC (Sunday):

Big 12 (Saturday-Sunday):

Big Ten (Saturday-Sunday):

EIWA (Friday-Saturday):

MAC (Saturday-Sunday):

Pac-12 (Saturday):

SoCon (Sunday):