Gable Steveson (Minnesota) Wins 2022 Abacus Award

Gable Steveson of the Minnesota Golden Gophers has been named the winner of the 2022 Abacus Award, as announced by WrestlingByPirate, the sponsor of the award. Steveson, a senior, had a 18-0 record over the course of the 2021-22 season, with one fall, six technical falls, and seven major decisions.

The Abacus Award is given to the wrestler with the highest Dual Impact Index rating over the course of the previous season. This marks the first time that the Abacus Award has been won by a Minnesota wrestler, but the tenth consecutive time that the Abacus Award has been won by a Big Ten wrestler.

Abacus Award top 5:

  1. Gable Steveson, Minnesota
  2. Ryan Deakin, Northwestern
  3. Aaron Brooks, Penn State
  4. Nick Suriano, Michigan
  5. Yianni Diakomihalis, Cornell

Abacus Award History:

2022: Gable Steveson, Minnesota
2021: not awarded
2020: Mark Hall, Penn State
2019: Jason Nolf, Penn State
2018: Spencer Lee, Iowa
2017: Zain Retherford, Penn State
2016: Zain Retherford, Penn State
2015: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
2014: David Taylor, Penn State
2013: Logan Stieber, Ohio State
2012: Ed Ruth, Penn State
2011: Jordan Oliver, Oklahoma State
2010: Jake Varner, Iowa State
2009: Jake Herbert, Northwestern


Post-Conference WrestlingByPirate Dual Impact Index

Post-Conference Ratings

Here’s how the numbers are calculated:

Individual rankings: Basically, all wrestlers set to 100 at the start of the calculation, and the opponents’ rankings having 30, 40, 50, or 60, depending on the type of victory (to correspond with dual scoring), either added or subtracted from it in each cycle. When the numbers stabilize to three digits (the one-thousandths place), the rankings are finalized for the week.

Things were done a little differently this week, with the NCAA Championships on the horizon. Anybody who was entered at their conference tournament, but did not qualify for the NCAA Championships, is in red, whereas those that qualified for Nationals are in yellow. The five-match minimum applies, although those that were entered at their conference tournaments had that rule waived.

The Projected NCAA Scores tab went match-by-match through the bracket, and predicted the team scores based on that. Bonus points are included. Special thanks to Adrian Stewart for having an interactive bracket to help calculate things!

NCAA Allocation Police Blotter (Final)

“Victims” refer to those who earned an allocation for their conference, but will be relying on an at-large bid, “Thieves” refer to those who did not earn an allocation for their conference during the regular season, but finished with an allocated spot and will be going to nationals.


Thieves: Korbin Meink, Campbell; Jace Koelzer, Northern Colorado; Brody Teske, Northern Iowa; Logan Ashton, Stanford; Patrick McCormick, Virginia
Victims: Caleb Smith, Appalachian State; Antonio Lorenzo, Cal Poly; Kysen Terukina, Iowa State; Noah Surtin, Missouri; Gage Curry, Pittsburgh


Thieves: Sidney Flores, Air Force; Anthony Madrigal, Oklahoma
Victims: Kellyn March, North Dakota State; Gabriel Tagg, South Dakota State


Thieves: Josh Mason, Bloomsburg; Gabe Willochel, Edinboro; Wilfredo Gil, Franklin & Marshall; Conor McGonagle, Lehigh; Stevan Micic, Michigan; Frankie Tal Shahar, Northwestern; Jacob Butler, Oklahoma; Quinn Kinner, Rider; Dylan Cedeno, Virginia
Victims: Ryan Anderson, Binghamton; Darren Miller, Bucknell; Dresden Simon, Central Michigan; Seth Koleno, Clarion; Kizhan Clarke, North Carolina; Cael Happel, Northern Iowa; Kyran Hagan, Ohio; Parker Filius, Purdue; Joseph Zargo, Wisconsin


Thieves: John Arceri, Buffalo; Kody Komara, Kent State; Dashawn Farber, Lock Haven; Michael Blockhus, Minnesota; Zachary Sherman, North Carolina; Colin Realbuto, Northern Iowa; Cory Crooks, Oregon State; Marshall Keller, Princeton
Victims: Brent Moore, Clarion; Dan Fongaro, Columbia; Alex Madrigal, George Mason; Josh Edmond, Missouri; Yahya Thomas, Northwestern; Alec Hagan, Ohio; Jaden Abas, Stanford; Jarod Verkleeren, Virginia


Thieves: Ben Barton, Lock Haven; Derek Holschlag, Northern Iowa; Brady Berge, Penn State
Victims: Chase Saldate, Michigan State; Jordan Slivka, Ohio; Wyatt Sheets, Oklahoma State


Thieves: Brevin Cassella, Binghamton; Andrew Nicholson, Chattanooga; Austin Wilson, Nebraska; David Ferrante, Northwestern; Matthew Olguin, Oregon State
Victims: William Formato, Appalachian State; Anthony Valencia, Arizona State; Dan Braunagel, Illinois; Brian Meyer, Lehigh; Creighton Edsell, Penn State


Thieves: Jacob Nolan, Binghamton; Jay Nivison, Buffalo; Dominic Solis, Maryland; Connor O’Neill, Rutgers; Tyler Eischens, Stanford; Dennis Robin, West Virginia
Victims: Sam Wolf, Air Force; Chris Foca, Cornell; Bailee O’Reilly, Minnesota; Sal Perrine, Ohio; Aaron Olmos, Oregon State; Gerrit Nijenhaus, Purdue


Thieves: Abe Assad, Iowa; Colin McCracken, Kent State; AJ Burkhart, Lehigh; Jack Jessen, Northwestern; Keegan Moore, Oklahoma
Victims: Ethan Ducca, Edinboro; Charles Small, Hofstra; Donnell Washington, Indiana; Dakota Geer, Oklahoma State; Max Lyon, Purdue


Thieves: Benjamin Smith, Cleveland State; Michial Foy, Minnesota; Cole Urbas, Penn; Evan Bockman, Utah Valley
Victims: JT Brown, Army West Point; Will Feldkamp, Clarion; Jaron Smith, Maryland; Alan Clothier, Northern Colorado


Thieves: Joe Doyle, Binghamton; Josh Heindselman, Oklahoma; Luke Surber, Oklahoma State
Victims: Zachary Knighton-Ward, Hofstra; Brandon Metz, North Dakota State; Michael Wolfgram, West Virginia